我们相信圣经

圣经

圣经是由神圣启发的人写的,是上帝向人类启示他自己的记录。它是神圣指导的完美宝藏。对于它的作者来说,它有上帝,为它的目的而有救恩,而真理,它没有任何错误的混合物。它在原始手稿中是无误的,无懈可击的,可以作为口头启发。它揭示了上帝审判我们的原则;因此,并且将在世界末日保持信徒联盟的真正中心,以及应该尝试所有人类行为,信条和神学观点的最高标准。圣经被解释的标准是耶稣。

示例: 24:4;申。4:1-2; 17:19;乔希。8:34; PS。19:7-10; 119:11,89,105,140;伊萨。34:16; 40:8;耶。15:16; 36;马特。5:17-18; 22:29;路加福音21:33; 24:44-46;约翰福音5:39; 16:13-15; 17:17;使徒行传2:16ff。; 17:11;只读存储器。15:4; 16:25-26;蒂姆 3:15-17;希伯来书。1:1-2; 4:12;彼得前书1:25;彼得前书1:19-21。


上帝

只有一个活着的真神。他是一个聪明的,属灵的,个人的存在者,宇宙的创造者,救赎者,保护者和统治者。上帝在圣洁和所有其他完美中是无限的。对于他们,我们应该得到最高的爱,敬畏和顺服。永恒的上帝以父亲,儿子和圣灵的身份向我们启示自己,具有鲜明的个人属性,但没有自然,本质或存在的分裂。

I.父神

作为父的上帝根据他的恩典的目的,对他的宇宙,他的生物以及人类历史的流动进行了全心全意的照顾。他是全能的,所有的爱,都是明智的。对于那些因信耶稣而成为上帝儿女的人来说,上帝是真理。他对所有人的态度都是父亲。

创1:1; 2:7;防爆。3:14; 6:2-3; 15:11 ff。; 20:1 ff。列弗 22:2;申。6:4; 32:6; 1 Chron。29:10; PS。19:1-3;伊萨。43:3,15; 64:8;耶。10:10; 17:13;马特。6:9 ff。; 7:11; 23:9; 28:19;马可福音1:9-11;约翰福音4:24; 5:26; 14:6-13; 17:1-8;使徒行传1:7;只读存储器。8:14-15; 1 Cor。8:6;加尔。4:6;弗。4:6;上校1:15; 1蒂姆。1:17;希伯来书。11:6; 12:9;彼得前书1:17;约翰一书5:7。

II。儿子的上帝

耶稣是上帝永恒的儿子。在他作为耶稣的化身中,他被认为是圣灵,并由圣母玛利亚所生。耶稣完全启示并遵行了上帝的旨意,接受了人性的要求和必需品,并在没有罪的情况下完全认同了自己。他以个人的顺从尊重神圣的律法,并且在十字架上的死中,他为人类从罪中得救而作出了规定。他以荣耀的身体从死里复活,并在他被钉十字架之前与他们同在。他升入天堂,现在在上帝的右边高举,在那里他是唯一的中保,分享上帝和人性的本性,并且在他的人身上实现上帝与人性的和解。他将以权力和荣耀回归审判世界并完善他的救赎使命。他现在住在所有信徒中,作为活着的,永远存在的主。

代数 18:1 ff。(诗 2:7 ff。; 110:1 ff。ISA 7:14; 53;马特。1:18-23; 3:17; 8:29; 11:27; 14:33; 16:16,27; 17:5; 27; 28:1-6,19;马可福音1:1; 3:11;路加福音1:35; 4:41; 22:70; 24:46;约翰福音1:1-18,29; 10:30,38; 11:25-27; 12:44-50; 14:7-11,16:15-16; 28; 17:1-5,21-22; 20:1-20,28;使徒行传1:9; 2:22-25; 7:55-56; 9:4-5,20;只读存储器。1:3-4; 3:23-26; 5:6-21; 8:1-3,34; 10:4; 1 Cor。1:30; 2:2; 8:6; 15:1-8,24:28; 2 Cor。5:19-21;加尔。4:4-5;弗。1:20; 3:11; 4:7-1 O;菲尔。2:5-11;歌罗西书1:13-22; 2:9; 1 Thess。4:14-18; 1蒂姆。2:5-6; 3:16;提多书2:13-14;希伯来书。1:1-3; 4:14-15; 7:14-28; 9:12-15,24-28; 12:2; 13:8;彼得前书2:21-25; 3:22;约翰一书1:7-9; 3:2; 4:14-15; 5:9; 2约翰福音7-9;启1:13-16; 5:9-14; 12:10-11; 13:8; 19:16。

III。上帝圣灵

圣灵是上帝的灵。他鼓励古老的圣人写圣经。通过照明,他使人们能够理解真理。他高举耶稣。他定罪于罪,公义和审判。他称人为救主,并使人再生。他培养品格,安慰信徒,并赐予他们通过他的教会侍奉上帝的属灵恩赐。他将信徒封印到最后救赎的日子。他的存在是上帝保证将信徒带入耶稣身形的丰满。他在信仰,传福音和服务中启发并赋予信徒和教会权力。

创1:2;士师记。14:6;约伯记26:13; PS。51:11; 139:7 ff。ISA 61:1-3;约珥书2:28-32;马特。1:18; 3:16; 4:1; 12:28-32; 28:19;马可福音1:10,12;路加福音1:35; 4:1,18-19; 11:13; 12:12; 24:49;约翰福音4:24; 14:16-17,26; 15:26; 16:7-14;使徒行传1:8; 2:1-4,38; 4:31; 5:3; 6:3; 7:55; 8:17,39; 10:44; 13:2; 15:28; 16:6; 19:1-6;只读存储器。8:9-11,14-16,26-27; 1 Cor。2:10-14; 3:16; 12:3-11;加尔。4:6;弗。1:13-14; 5:18; 1 Thess。5:19; 1蒂姆。3:16; 1:14;蒂姆 1:14; 3:16;希伯来书。9:8,14;彼得后书1:21;约翰一书4:13; 5:6-7;启1:1 O; 22:17。


人性

人类是按照上帝的特殊行为,按照他自己的形象创造的,是他创造的最高荣耀。起初,人类是无辜的罪,并且被造物主赋予了选择的自由。通过他的自由选择,人类犯了上帝的罪,并将罪带入了人类。借着撒但人的试探,人类违背了上帝的命令,从原来的天真中堕落了;他的后代继承了一种倾向于罪恶的性质和环境,一旦他们有道德行为能够成为违法者并受到谴责。只有上帝的恩典才能将人性带入他的团契,使人类能够实现上帝的创造性目的。人格的神圣性是显而易见的,因为上帝以他自己的形象创造了人性,并且耶稣为人类而死;因此,每个人都拥有尊严,值得尊重和爱。

创世纪1:26-30; 2:5,7,18-22; 3; 9:6; PS。1; 8:3-6; 32:1-5; 51:5;伊萨。6:5;耶。17:5;马特。16:26;使徒行传17:26-31;只读存储器。1:19-32; 3:10-18,23; 5:6; 12,19; 6:6; 7:14-25; 8:14-18,29; 1 Cor。1:21-31; 15:19,21-22;弗。2:1-22;歌罗西书1:21-22; 3:9-11。


拯救

救恩涉及整个人类的救赎,并自由地献给所有接受耶稣为主和救主的人,他们借着自己的血为信徒获得永恒的救赎。从最广泛的意义上说,救赎包括再生,成圣和荣耀。

I.再生,或新生,是上帝恩典的工作,信徒在耶稣里成为新的生物。这是圣灵通过对罪的信念所造成的改变,罪人对上帝的悔改以及对主耶稣的信仰作出回应。

悔改和信心是恩典不可分割的经验。悔改是从罪到上帝的真正转变。

信心是接受耶稣,并将整个人格作为主和救主献给他。称义是上帝对所有悔改并相信耶稣的罪人的公义原则的仁慈和完全无罪释放。称义使信徒成为一种和平与恩惠的关系。

II。成圣就是经验,从再生开始,通过这种经验

信徒被置于上帝的旨意之中,并且能够通过住在他里面的圣灵的存在和能力,朝着道德和属灵的完美进步。在整个再生者的生命中,恩典的成长应该继续。

III。荣耀是救恩的顶点,是救赎的最后祝福和持久的状态。

创世纪3:15;防爆。3:14-17; 6:2-8;马特。1:21; 4:17; 16:21-26; 27:22至28:6;路加福音1:68-69; 2:28-32;约翰福音1:11-14,29; 3:3-21,36; 5:24; 10:9,28-29; 15:1-16; 17:17;使徒行传2:21; 4:12; 15:11; 16:30-31; 17:30-31; 20:32;只读存储器。1:16-18; 2:4; 3:23-25; 4:3 ff。; 5:8-10; 6:1-23; 8:1-18,29-39; 10:9-10,13; 13:11-14; 1 Cor。1:18,30; 6:19-20; 15:10; 2 Cor。5:17-20;加尔。2:20; 3:13; 5:22-25; 6:15;弗。1:7; 2:8-22; 4:11-16;菲尔。2:12-13;上校 1:9-22; 3:1 ff。; 1 Thess。5:23-24;蒂姆 1:12;提多书2:11-14;希伯来书。2:1-3; 5:8-9; 9:24-28; 11:1-12:8,14;雅各书2:14-26;彼得前书1:2-23;约翰一书1:6到2:11;启示录 3:20; 21:1到22:5。


溫雅

选举是上帝仁慈的目的,根据这一目的,祂使人重生,成圣,并荣耀罪人。它符合人类的自由代理,并理解与目的有关的所有手段。它是对上帝的主权善良的光荣展示,是无限智慧,圣洁和不可改变的。它不包括夸耀和促进谦卑。

所有真正的信徒都会坚持到底。那些上帝在耶稣里接受并被圣灵成圣的人,永远不会脱离恩典的状态,而是坚持到底。信徒可能因疏忽和试探而陷入罪中,他们使圣灵忧伤,削弱他们的恩典和安慰,对耶稣的圣工造成羞辱,对他们自己作出暂时的审判,但他们必须靠着信心得救,借着信心得救。。

创12:1-3;防爆。19:5-8; 1山姆。8:4-7,19-22;伊萨。5:1-7;耶。31:31 ff。无光泽 16:18-19; 21:28-45; 24:22,31; 25:34;路加福音1:68-79; 2:29-32; 19:41-44; 24:44-48;约翰福音1:12-14; 3:16; 5:24; 6:44-45,65; 10:27-29; 15:16; 17:6,12,17-18;使徒行传20:32;只读存储器。5:9-10; 8:28-29; 10:12-15; 11:5-7,26-36; 1 Cor。1:1-2; 15:24-28;弗。1:4-23; 2:1-10; 3:1-11;歌罗西书1:12-14; 2 Thess。2:13-14;蒂姆 1:12,2:10,19;希伯来书。11:39-12:2;彼得前书1:2-5,13; 2:4-10;约翰一书1:7-9; 2:19; 3:2。


诫命

对上帝和他人的爱是所有诫命中最伟大的,也是对所有律法的实现。通过根据圣经爱上帝和其他人,可以证明他或她是否真正来自上帝。当爱上帝时,一个人表达他或她对他的承诺。这种承诺转化为遵守他所有的诫命。爱一个人,一个人爱自己,也转化为按照他的诫命生活。爱的诫命在所有自称跟随祂的人身上产生神圣性。没有罪或杂质存在于那些真正爱上帝和他或她的邻居的人的身体,心灵或精神中。

无光泽 22:34-40;马可福音12:28-31;路加福音10:25-37;只读存储器。13:9-10;加尔。6:10;防爆。19:5,6;约翰一书4:20-21;传道书。12:11;伊萨。22:24;耶。8:2;士。18:24; PS。103:1。


教堂

主耶稣的新约教会是受洗的信徒的地方团体,他们与福音的信仰和团契有关,遵守耶稣的两条条例,致力于他的教导,行使所投入的恩赐,权利和特权。在他们的话语中,并寻求将福音扩展到地球的尽头。

这个教会是一个自治的机构,通过耶稣的主权下的民主进程运作。在这种情况下,会众成员同样负有责任。它的圣经官员是牧师和执事。

新约圣经也说教会是耶稣的身体,包括所有年龄的所有赎民。

无光泽 16:15-19; 18:15-20;使徒行传2:41-42,47; 5:11-14; 6:3-6; 13:1-3; 14:23,27; 15:1-30; 16:5; 20:28;只读存储器。1:7; 1 Cor。1:2; 3:16; 5:4-5; 7:17; 9:13-14; 12;弗。1:22-23; 2:19-22; 3:8-11,21; 5:22-32;菲尔。1:1;上校1:18; 1蒂姆。3:1-15; 4:14;彼得前书5:1-4; Rev.2-3; 21:2-3。


上帝的国度包括他对宇宙的一般主权和他对故意承认他为国王的人的特殊王权。特别是王国是人类通过对耶稣的信任,孩子般的承诺进入的救赎领域。那些遵循圣经的人应该祈祷并努力使王国可能来到,而上帝将在地上完成。王国的完全圆满等待耶稣的回归和这个时代的结束。

创1:1;伊萨。9:6-7;耶。23:5-6;马特。3:2; 4:8-10,23; 12:25-28; 13:1-52; 25:31-46; 26:29;马可福音1:14-15; 9:1;路加福音4:43; 8:1; 9:2; 12:31-32; 17:20-21; 23:42;约翰福音3:3,18-36;使徒行传1:6-7; 17:22-32;只读存储器。5:17; 8:19; 1 Cor。15:24-28;歌罗西书1:13;希伯来书。11:10,16; 12:28;彼得前书2:4-10; 4:13;启示录1:6,9; 5:10; 11:15,21-22。


最后的事情

根据他的应许,耶稣将在荣耀中个人而明显地回归。耶稣里的死人将首先升起,然后我们活着并且直到耶和华降临,我们将在云中与他们一同被赶上来在空中与主相遇。在大灾难中上帝对这个罪恶世界的审判之后,耶稣我们的主将与他的圣徒一起来建立他的千禧年王国。

耶稣会以公义审判所有人。借着耶稣的牺牲,在他们复活和荣耀的身体中得救的人将得到他们的赏赐,并将永远与他们的救主住在天堂。未得救的人将与上帝的国分开,将被投入火湖。

爾撒 2:4; 11:9;马特。16:27; 18:8-9; 19:28; 24:27,30,36,44; 25:31-46; 26:64;马可福音8:38; 9:43;路加福音12:40,48; 16:19-26; 17:22-37; 21:27-28;约翰福音14:1-3;使徒行传1:11; 17:31;只读存储器。14:10; 1 Cor。4:5; 15:24-28,35-58; 2 Cor。5:10;菲尔。3:20-21;歌罗西书1:5; 3:4; 1 Thess。4:14-18; 5:1 ff。; 2 Thess。1:7 ff。; 2; 1蒂姆。6:14;蒂姆 4:1,8;提多书2:13;希伯来书。9:27-28;雅各书5:8;彼得前书3:7 ff。;约翰一书2:28; 3:2;裘德14;启示录 1:18; 3:11; 20:1到22:13。


使命

耶稣的每一个跟随者和主耶稣的每一个教会都有责任努力培养万民的门徒。上帝圣灵新生的人类精神意味着对他人的爱的诞生。因此,所有人的传教努力都取决于再生生活的精神需要。并且在耶稣的教训中明确地反复指挥。上帝的每一个孩子都有责任通过个人的努力和与耶稣的福音和谐相处的所有其他方法,不断寻求胜利归于耶稣。

创12:1-3;防爆。19:5-6;伊萨。6:1-8;马特。9:37-38; 10:5-15; 13:18-30,37-43; 16:19; 22:9-10; 24:14; 28:18-20;路加福音10:1-18; 24:46-53;约翰福音14:11-12; 15:7-8,16:17:15; 20:21;使徒行传1:8; 8:26-40; 10:42-48; 13:2-3;只读存储器。10:13-15;弗。3:1-11; 1 Thess。1:8;蒂姆 4:5;希伯来书。2:1-3; 11:39到12:2;彼得前书2:4-10;启22:17。


合作

耶稣的人民应该根据需要组织这样的协会和公约,以便最好地为上帝王国的伟大目标进行合作。这些组织对彼此或教会没有权力。他们是自愿和咨询机构,旨在以最有效的方式引导,结合和指导我们人民的能量。新约教会的成员应该相互合作,推进传教,教育和仁慈的事工,以扩展耶稣的王国。新约意义上的信徒团结是耶稣各族群体的共同目的的精神和谐和自愿合作。在圣经之后的各种教派之间进行合作是可取的,当要达到的目的本身是合理的,并且当这种合作不涉及良心和妥协对新耶稣所显示的对耶稣及其圣言的忠诚时。

示例: 17:12; 18:17FF。;士师记。7:21;以斯拉记1:3-4; 2:68-69; 5:14-15;尼。4; 8:1-5;马特。10:5-15; 20:1-16; 21:1-10; 28:19-20;马可福音2:3;路加福音10:1 ff。;使徒行传1:13-14; 2:1 ff。; 4:31-37; 13:2-3; 15:1-35; 1 Cor。1:10-17; 3:5-15; 12; 2 Cor。8-9;加尔。1:6-10;弗。4:1-16;菲尔。1:15-18。


监护

上帝是所有祝福的源泉,时间和精神;我们拥有的一切,我们都归于他。那些遵循圣经的人对全世界都有属灵的债务,在福音里有托管,在他们的财产上有有约束力的管家。因此,他们有义务以他们的时间,才干和物质财富为他服务;并且应该承认所有这些都被委托给他们用于荣耀上帝和帮助他人。根据圣经,信徒应该高兴,有规律地,系统地,按比例地,自由地为他们在地上的救赎主义事业的进步作出贡献。什一税被认为是管家的起点。

创世纪14:20;列弗。27:30-32;申。8:18;玛。3:8-12;马特。6:1-4,19:21; 23:23; 25:14-29;路加福音12:16-21,42; 16:1-13;使徒行传2:44-47; 5:1-11; 17:24-25; 20:35;只读存储器。6:6-22; 12:1-2; 1 Cor。4:1-2; 6:19-20; 12; 16:1-4; 2 Cor。8-9; 12:15;菲尔。4:10-19;彼得前书1:18-19。


教育

耶稣王国的教育事业与任务的起因和一般的仁慈是一致的,并且应该得到教会的自由支持。对于跟随耶稣的人来说,一个完整的圣经学校系统是必要的。

在教育方面,应该在学术自由和学术责任之间取得适当的平衡。任何有序的人类生活关系中的自由总是有限的,绝不是绝对的。圣经学校,大学或神学院的教师自由受到耶稣的卓越性,圣经的权威性以及学校存在的独特目的的限制。

二重奏 4:1,5,9,14; 6:1-10; 31:12-13;尼。8:1-8;约伯记28:28; PS。19:7FF。; 119:11;箴言。3:13FF。; 4:1-10; 8:1-7,11; 15:14;传道书。7:19;马特。5:2; 7:24ff。; 28:19-20;路加福音2:40; 1 Cor。1:18-31;弗。4:11-16;菲尔。4:8;歌罗西书2:3,8-9; 1蒂姆。1:3-7;蒂姆 2:15; 3:14-17;希伯来书。5:12到6:3;雅各书1:5; 3:17。

WE BELIEVE

SCRIPTURES

The Bible was written by men divinely inspired and is the record of God's revelation of Himself to humanity. It is a perfect treasure of divine instruction. It has God for its author, salvation for its end, and truth, without any mixture of error, for its matter. It is inerrant and infallible in its original manuscript which is to be taken as verbally inspired. It reveals the principles by which God judges us; and therefore is, and will remain to the end of the world, the true center of the believer union, and the supreme standard by which all human conduct, creeds, and religious opinions should be tried. The criterion by which the Bible is to be interpreted is Jesus.

Ex. 24:4; Deut. 4:1-2; 17:19; Josh. 8:34; Ps. 19:7-10; 119:11, 89,105, 140; Isa. 34:16; 40:8; Jer. 15:16; 36; Matt. 5:17-18; 22:29; Luke 21 :33; 24:44-46; John 5:39; 16:13-15; 17:17; Acts 2:16ff.; 17:11; Rom. 15:4; 16:25-26; 2 Tim. 3:15-17; Heb. 1:1-2; 4:12; 1 Peter 1:25; 2 Peter 1:19-21.


GOD

There is one and only one living and true God. He is an intelligent, spiritual, and personal Being, the Creator, Redeemer, Preserver, and Ruler of the universe. God is infinite in holiness and all other perfections. To Him we owe the highest love, reverence, and obedience. The eternal God reveals Himself to us as Father, Son and Holy Spirit, with distinct personal attributes, but without division of nature, essence, or being.

I. God the Father

God as Father reigns with providential care over His universe, His creatures, and the flow of the stream of human history according to the purposes of His grace. He is all powerful, all loving, and all wise. God is Father in truth to those who become children of God through faith in Jesus. He is fatherly in His attitude toward all men.

Gen. 1:1; 2:7; Ex. 3:14; 6:2-3; 15:11 ff.; 20:1 ff.; Lev. 22:2; Deut. 6:4; 32:6; 1 Chron. 29:10; Ps. 19:1-3; Isa. 43:3, 15; 64:8; Jer. 10:10; 17:13; Matt. 6:9 ff.; 7:11; 23:9; 28:19; Mark 1 :9-11; John 4:24; 5:26; 14:6-13; 17:1-8; Acts 1:7; Rom. 8:14-15; 1 Cor. 8:6; Gal. 4:6; Eph. 4:6; Col. 1:15; 1 Tim. 1 :17; Heb. 11 :6; 12:9; 1 Peter 1 :17; 1 John 5:7.

II. God the Son

Jesus is the eternal Son of God. In His incarnation as Jesus, He was conceived of the Holy Spirit and born of the virgin Mary. Jesus perfectly revealed and did the will of God, taking upon Himself the demands and necessities of human nature and identifying Himself completely with mankind yet without sin. He honored the divine law by His personal obedience, and in His death on the cross He made provision for the redemption of men from sin. He was raised from the dead with a glorified body and appeared to His disciples as the person who was with them before His crucifixion. He ascended into heaven and is now exalted at the right hand of God where He is the One Mediator, partaking of the nature of God and of humanity, and in whose Person is effected the reconciliation between God and humanity. He will return in power and glory to judge the world and to consummate His redemptive mission. He now dwells in all believers as the living and ever present Lord.

Gen. 18:1 ff.; Ps. 2:7 ff.; 110:1 ff.; Isa. 7:14; 53; Matt. 1:18-23; 3:17; 8:29; 11:27; 14:33; 16:16, 27; 17:5; 27; 28:1-6, 19; Mark 1:1; 3:11; Luke 1 :35; 4:41; 22:70; 24:46; John 1:1-18, 29; 10:30, 38; 11 :25-27; 12:44-50; 14:7-11, 16:15-16; 28; 17:1-5, 21-22; 20:1-20, 28; Acts 1:9; 2:22-25; 7:55-56; 9:4-5, 20; Rom. 1 :3-4; 3:23-26; 5:6-21; 8:1-3, 34; 10:4; 1 Cor. 1:30; 2:2; 8:6; 15:1-8, 24:28; 2 Cor. 5:19-21; Gal. 4:4-5; Eph. 1 :20; 3:11; 4:7-1 O; Phil. 2:5-11; Col. 1 :13-22; 2:9; 1 Thess. 4:14-18; 1 Tim. 2:5-6; 3:16; Titus 2:13-14; Heb. 1:1-3; 4:14-15; 7:14-28; 9:12-15, 24-28; 12:2; 13:8; 1 Peter 2:21-25; 3:22; 1 John 1 :7-9; 3:2; 4:14-15; 5:9; 2 John 7-9; Rev. 1:13-16; 5:9-14; 12:10-11; 13:8; 19:16.

III. God the Holy Spirit

The Holy Spirit is the Spirit of God. He inspired holy men of old to write the Scriptures. Through illumination He enables men to understand truth. He exalts Jesus. He convicts of sin, of righteousness and of judgment. He calls men to the Savior, and effects regeneration. He cultivates character, comforts believers, and bestows the spiritual gifts by which they serve God through His church. He seals the believer unto the day of final redemption. His presence is the assurance of God to bring the believer into the fullness of the stature of Jesus. He enlightens and empowers the believer and the church in worship, evangelism, and service.

Gen. 1:2; Judg. 14:6; Job 26:13; Ps. 51:11; 139:7 ff.; Isa. 61:1-3; Joel 2:28-32; Matt. 1:18; 3:16; 4:1; 12:28-32; 28:19; Mark 1:10, 12; Luke 1:35; 4:1, 18-19; 11:13; 12:12; 24:49; John 4:24; 14:16-17, 26; 15:26; 16:7-14; Acts 1:8; 2:1-4, 38; 4:31; 5:3; 6:3; 7:55; 8:17, 39; 10:44; 13:2; 15:28; 16:6; 19:1-6; Rom. 8:9-11, 14-16, 26-27; 1 Cor. 2:10-14; 3:16; 12:3-11; Gal. 4:6; Eph. 1:13-14; 5:18; 1 Thess. 5:19; 1 Tim. 3:16; 1:14; 2 Tim. 1:14; 3:16; Heb. 9:8, 14; 2 Peter 1:21; 1 John 4:13; 5:6-7; Rev. 1 :1 O; 22:17.


HUMANITY

Humanity was created by the special act of God, in His own image, and is the crowning work of His creation. In the beginning humanity was innocent of sin and was endowed by his Creator with freedom of choice. By his free choice humanity sinned against God and brought sin into the human race. Through the temptation of Satan humanity transgressed the command of God, and fell from his original innocence; whereby his posterity inherit a nature and an environment inclined toward sin, and as soon as they are capable of moral action become transgressors and are under condemnation. Only the grace of God can bring humanity into His fellowship and enable humanity to fulfill the creative purpose of God. The sacredness of human personality is evident in that God created humanity in His own image, and in that Jesus died for humanity; therefore every humanity possesses dignity and is worthy of respect and love.

Gen. 1 :26-30; 2:5, 7, 18-22; 3; 9:6; Ps. 1; 8:3-6; 32: 1-5; 51 :5; Isa. 6:5; Jer. 17:5; Matt. 16:26; Acts 17:26-31; Rom. 1:19-32; 3:10-18, 23; 5:6; 12, 19; 6:6; 7:14-25; 8:14-18, 29; 1 Cor. 1 :21-31; 15:19, 21-22; Eph. 2:1-22; Col. 1:21-22; 3:9-11.


SALVATION

Salvation involves the redemption of the whole humanity, and is offered freely to all who accept Jesus as Lord and Savior, who by His own blood obtained eternal redemption for the believer. In its broadest sense salvation includes regeneration, sanctification, and glorification.

I. Regeneration, or the new birth, is a work of God's grace whereby believers become new creatures in Jesus. It is a change of heart wrought by the Holy Spirit through conviction of sin, to which the sinner responds in repentance toward God and faith in the Lord Jesus.

Repentance and faith are inseparable experiences of grace. Repentance is a genuine turning from sin toward God.

Faith is the acceptance of Jesus and commitment of the entire personality to Him as Lord and Savior. Justification is God's gracious and full acquittal upon principles of His righteousness of all sinners who repent and believe in Jesus. Justification brings the believer into a relationship of peace and favor with God.

II. Sanctification is the experience, beginning in regeneration, by which the

believer is set apart to God's purposes, and is enabled to progress toward moral and spiritual perfection through the presence and power of the Holy Spirit dwelling in him. Growth in grace should continue throughout the regenerate person's life.

III. Glorification is the culmination of salvation and is the final blessed and abiding state of the redeemed.

Gen. 3:15; Ex. 3:14-17; 6:2-8; Matt. 1:21; 4:17; 16:21-26; 27:22 to 28:6; Luke 1 :68-69; 2:28-32; John 1 :11-14, 29; 3:3-21, 36; 5:24; 10:9, 28-29; 15:1-16; 17:17; Acts 2:21; 4:12; 15:11; 16:30-31; 17:30-31; 20:32; Rom. 1:16-18; 2:4; 3:23-25; 4:3 ff.; 5:8-10; 6:1-23; 8:1-18, 29-39; 10:9-10, 13; 13:11-14; 1 Cor. 1:18, 30; 6:19-20; 15:10; 2 Cor. 5:17-20; Gal. 2:20; 3:13; 5:22-25; 6:15; Eph. 1:7; 2:8-22; 4:11-16; Phil. 2:12-13; Col. 1:9-22; 3:1 ff.; 1 Thess. 5:23-24; 2 Tim. 1:12; Titus 2:11-14; Heb. 2:1-3; 5:8-9; 9:24-28; 11:1-12:8, 14; James 2:14-26; 1 Peter 1 :2-23; 1 John 1 :6 to 2:11; Rev. 3:20; 21 :1 to 22:5.


GRACE

Election is the gracious purpose of God, according to which He regenerates, sanctifies, and glorifies sinners. It is consistent with the free agency of humanity, and comprehends all the means in connection with the end. It is a glorious display of God's sovereign goodness, and is infinitely wise, holy, and unchangeable. It excludes boasting and promotes humility.

All true believers endure to the end. Those whom God has accepted in Jesus, and sanctified by His Spirit, will never fall away from the state of grace, but shall persevere to the end. Believers may fall into sin through neglect and temptation, whereby they grieve the Spirit, impair their graces and comforts, bring reproach on the cause of Jesus, and temporal judgments on themselves, yet they shall be kept by the power of God through faith unto salvation.

Gen. 12:1-3; Ex. 19:5-8; 1 Sam. 8:4-7, 19-22; Isa. 5:1-7; Jer. 31:31 ff.; Matt. 16:18-19; 21:28-45; 24:22, 31; 25:34; Luke 1:68-79; 2:29-32; 19:41-44; 24:44-48; John 1:12-14; 3:16; 5:24; 6:44-45, 65; 10:27-29; 15:16; 17:6, 12, 17-18; Acts 20:32; Rom. 5:9-10; 8:28-29; 10:12-15; 11:5-7, 26-36; 1 Cor. 1:1-2; 15:24-28; Eph. 1:4-23; 2:1-10; 3:1-11; Col. 1:12-14; 2 Thess. 2:13-14; 2 Tim. 1:12, 2:10, 19; Heb. 11:39-12:2; 1 Peter 1:2-5, 13; 2:4-10; 1 John 1:7-9; 2:19; 3:2.


COMMANDMENT

Love for God and others is the greatest of all the commandments and the fulfillment of all the law. By loving God and others according to the Scriptures, one demonstrates if he or she truly is from God. When loving God, one expresses his or her commitment to Him. This commitment translates into obeying all His commandments. Loving others as, one loves himself or herself, also translates into living according to His Commandments. The commandment to love produces sanctity in all those who claim to follow Him. No sin or impurity dwells in the body, mind, or spirit of those who truly love God and his or her neighbors.

Matt. 22:34-40; Mark 12:28-31; Luke 10:25-37; Rom. 13:9-10; Gal. 6:10; Ex. 19:5,6; 1 John 4:20-21; Eccl. 12:11; Isa. 22:24; Jer. 8:2; Jdg. 18:24; Ps. 103:1.


CHURCH

A New Testament church of the Lord Jesus is a local body of baptized believers who are associated by covenant in the faith and fellowship of the gospel, observing the two ordinances of Jesus, committed to His teachings, exercising the gifts, rights, and privileges invested in them by His word, and seeking to extend the gospel to the ends of the earth.

This church is an autonomous body, operating through democratic processes under the Lordship of Jesus. In such, congregation members are equally responsible. Its Scriptural officers are pastors and deacons.

The New Testament speaks also of the church as the body of Jesus which includes all of the redeemed of all the ages.

Matt. 16:15-19; 18:15-20; Acts 2:41-42, 47; 5:11-14; 6:3-6; 13:1-3; 14:23, 27; 15:1-30; 16:5; 20:28; Rom. 1 :7; 1 Cor. 1 :2; 3:16; 5:4-5; 7:17; 9:13-14; 12; Eph. 1:22-23; 2:19-22; 3:8-11, 21; 5:22-32; Phil. 1:1; Col. 1:18; 1 Tim. 3:1-15; 4:14; 1 Peter 5:1-4; Rev. 2-3; 21:2-3.


KINGDOM

The Kingdom of God includes both His general sovereignty over the universe and His particular kingship over men who willfully acknowledge Him as King. Particularly the Kingdom is the realm of salvation into which men enter by trustful, childlike commitment to Jesus. Those who follow the Bible ought to pray and to labor that the Kingdom may come and God's will be done on earth. The full consummation of the Kingdom awaits the return of Jesus and the end of this age.

Gen. 1 :1; Isa. 9:6-7; Jer. 23:5-6; Matt. 3:2; 4:8-10, 23; 12:25-28; 13:1-52; 25:31-46; 26:29; Mark 1:14-15; 9:1; Luke 4:43; 8:1; 9:2; 12:31-32; 17:20-21; 23:42; John 3:3, 18-36; Acts 1:6-7; 17:22-32; Rom. 5: 17; 8: 19; 1 Cor. 15:24-28; Col. 1: 13; Heb. 11: 10, 16; 12:28; 1 Peter 2:4-10; 4:13; Rev. 1:6, 9; 5:10; 11:15, 21-22.


LAST THINGS

According to His promise, Jesus will return personally and visibly in glory. The dead in Jesus will rise first, then we who are alive and remain until the coming of the Lord shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. After the judgments of God upon this sinful world in the Great Tribulation, Jesus our Lord will come with his saints to establish His millennial kingdom.

Jesus will judge all men in righteousness. The redeemed, by Jesus' sacrifice, in their resurrected and glorified bodies will receive their rewards and will dwell in heaven forever with their Savior. The unsaved will be separated from the kingdom of God and will be cast into the lake of fire.

Isa. 2:4; 11 :9; Matt. 16:27; 18:8-9; 19:28; 24:27, 30, 36, 44; 25:31-46; 26:64; Mark 8:38; 9:43; Luke 12:40, 48; 16:19-26; 17:22-37; 21 :27-28; John 14:1-3; Acts 1:11; 17:31; Rom. 14:10; 1 Cor. 4:5; 15:24-28, 35-58; 2 Cor. 5:10; Phil. 3:20-21; Col. 1:5; 3:4; 1 Thess. 4:14-18; 5:1 ff.; 2 Thess. 1:7 ff.; 2; 1 Tim. 6:14; 2 Tim. 4:1, 8; Titus 2:13; Heb. 9:27-28; James 5:8; 2 Peter 3:7 ff.; 1 John 2:28; 3:2; Jude 14; Rev. 1:18; 3:11; 20:1 to 22:13.


MISSIONS

It is the duty and privilege of every follower of Jesus and of every church of the Lord Jesus to endeavor to make disciples of all nations. The new birth of humanity's spirit by God's Holy Spirit means the birth of love for others. Missionary efforts on the part of all rests thus upon a spiritual necessity of the regenerate life. and is expressly and repeatedly commanded in the teachings of Jesus. It is the duty of every child of God to seek constantly to win the lost to Jesus by personal effort and by all other methods in harmony with the gospel of Jesus.

Gen. 12:1-3; Ex. 19:5-6; Isa. 6:1-8; Matt. 9:37-38; 10:5-15; 13:18-30, 37-43; 16:19; 22:9-10; 24:14; 28:18-20; Luke 10:1-18; 24:46-53; John 14:11-12; 15:7-8, 16: 17:15; 20:21; Acts 1:8; 8:26-40; 10:42-48; 13:2-3; Rom. 10:13-15; Eph. 3:1-11; 1 Thess. 1 :8; 2 Tim. 4:5; Heb. 2:1-3; 11:39 to 12:2; 1 Peter 2:4-10; Rev. 22:17.


COOPERATION

Jesus' people should, as occasion requires, organize such associations and conventions as may best secure cooperation for the great objects of the Kingdom of God. Such organizations have no authority over one another or over the churches. They are voluntary and advisory bodies developed to elicit, combine, and direct the energies of our people in the most effective manner. Members of New Testament churches should cooperate with one another in carrying forward the missionary, educational, and benevolent ministries for the extension of Jesus' Kingdom. The believer unity in the New Testament sense is spiritual harmony and voluntary cooperation for common ends by various groups of Jesus' people. Cooperation is desirable between the various denominations that follow the Bible, when the end to be attained is itself justified, and when such cooperation involves no violation of conscience and compromise of loyalty to Jesus and His Word as revealed in the New Testament.

Ex. 17:12; 18:17ff.; Judg. 7:21; Ezra 1:3-4; 2:68-69; 5:14-15; Neh. 4; 8:1-5; Matt. 10:5-15; 20:1-16; 21:1-10; 28:19-20; Mark 2:3; Luke 10:1 ff.; Acts 1:13-14; 2:1 ff.; 4:31-37; 13:2-3; 15:1-35; 1 Cor. 1:10-17; 3:5-15; 12; 2 Cor. 8-9; Gal. 1:6-10; Eph. 4:1-16; Phil. 1:15-18.


STEWARDSHIP

God is the source of all blessings, temporal and spiritual; all that we have and are we owe to Him. Those who follow the Bible have a spiritual debt to the whole world, a trusteeship in the gospel, and a binding stewardship in their possessions. They are therefore under obligation to serve Him with their time, talents and material possessions; and should recognize all these as entrusted to them to use for the glory of God and for helping others. According to the Scriptures, believers should contribute of their means cheerfully, regularly, systematically, proportionately, and liberally for the advancement of the Redeemer's cause on earth. The tithe is to be considered the starting place of Stewardship.

Gen. 14:20; Lev. 27:30-32; Deut. 8:18; Mal. 3:8-12; Matt. 6:1-4, 19:21; 23:23; 25:14-29; Luke 12:16-21, 42; 16:1-13; Acts 2:44-47; 5:1-11; 17:24-25; 20:35; Rom. 6:6-22; 12:1-2; 1 Cor. 4:1-2; 6:19-20; 12; 16:1-4; 2 Cor. 8-9; 12:15; Phil. 4:10-19; 1 Peter 1:18-19.


EDUCATION

The cause of education in the Kingdom of Jesus is co-ordinate with the causes of missions and general benevolence, and should receive along with these the liberal support of the churches. An adequate system of Bible schools is necessary to a complete spiritual program for those who follow Jesus.

In education there should be a proper balance between academic freedom and academic responsibility. Freedom in any orderly relationship of human life is always limited and never absolute. The freedom of a teacher in a Bible school, university or seminary is limited by the pre-eminence of Jesus, by the authoritative nature of the Scriptures, and by the distinct purpose for which the school exists.

Duet. 4:1, 5, 9, 14; 6:1-10; 31:12-13; Neh. 8:1-8; Job 28:28; Ps. 19:7ff.; 119:11; Prov. 3:13ff.; 4:1-10; 8:1-7, 11; 15:14; Eccl. 7:19; Matt. 5:2; 7:24ff.; 28:19-20; Luke 2:40; 1 Cor. 1:18-31; Eph. 4:11-16; Phil. 4:8; Col. 2:3, 8-9; 1 Tim. 1 :3-7; 2 Tim. 2:15; 3:14-17; Heb. 5:12 to 6:3; James 1:5;3:17.